Stackscene

The view from my reading pile.

Five Links Makes a Post September 14, 2009

Filed under: linkdump — stackscene @ 2:36 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been collecting interesting library links for a week or two now, thinking I’d make posts about each one. But they’re building up, and I don’t always have enough to say about them to merit a whole post anyway, so I’m just going to go ahead and dump them and talk a little about each.

1. Isn’t actually about libraries at all, it’s about women in tech from the Geek Feminism Blog, and I decided to go ahead and post it here because so much of librarianship these days involves technology, but I’m not sure how our numbers stack up for women in actual technical positions. Anybody know?

2. Next up we have Karen Springen at Publisher’s Weekly letting us know that the new hot thing in YA literature this Fall is going to be Angels. YA librarians, if your vampire readers are looking for the next thing, make sure to take a look at these titles!

3. Cory Doctorow at Boing Boing is asking for YA authors to send electronic copies of their books to a Detroit teacher so she can print them in Braille for her blind students. If you have a YA novel or know someone who does, please pass this along, accessibility is one of my big issues in librarianship, and this is a fantastic project she’s doing. In Massachusetts we’re lucky to have the Perkins School for the Blind and their amazing library serving the entire state, but I understand that not everyone has access to the same resources.

4. This is just tragic. Philadelphia is closing their entire library system due to budget cuts. I’m not sure I even have words for how sad that makes me. Here’s hoping things turn around there and libraries are able to re-open.

5. And finally, you’ve probably already heard about this, but a MA prep school has gotten rid of all their books. They’re going completely digital this year, and I’m torn. It really bothers me that they’re getting Kindles for some students but not all, for one thing. I’ve also already heard rumblings from many of my friends and peers that they wouldn’t send their kids to a school with no books in the library. So if nothing else, it’s a pretty bold and gutsy move, and I’m going to be interested to see how it works out for them. I really disapprove of getting rid of the reference desk in favor of a coffee shop as well. Just because they’re going digital doesn’t mean the students won’t need help with research, and in many cases it may mean they need more help navigating new databases and other electronic resources. To be fair, the article says they’re getting rid of the desk, but I’m not sure if it means that the library will not have reference services available. I also think the circulation numbers mentioned in the article are interesting, and the move to digital could turn out to be a really good thing for them. It looks like a lot of the success will depend on how the school sells the change to the parents who send their kids there. Definitely something to keep an eye on.

So that’s my link roundup for today, feel free to leave me other interesting library or book related links in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.